The Science of Happiness course, and how do you define happiness?

I decided to take my studies of happiness to the next level and signed up to the MOOC (massive open online course) titled The Science of Happiness from UC Berkeley. A fascinating course! (and apparently, the first positive psychology course available for free online)  Now and then, I will be sharing with you my breakthroughs on happiness and interesting thoughts stemming from the course material.

Interesting reframing exercise to begin with. I might have said before that my goal is pursuit of happiness. Well, science proved that pursuing happiness only makes one unhappy. So I recalibrated my goal accordingly – I am working on increasing my levels of happiness. This is, by the way, what The Science of Happiness course aims to do too – make one happier.

I also realised that we never do exercises here on the blog! Unbelievable 🙂  Here is one to get us started. This exercise is part of the course and is surprisingly difficult (at least it was for me). It made me pause and really think. How do you define happiness? I did not suspect that different people defined happiness so differently! Read the full question below and share your views in the comments!

How do you define happiness? On what do you base that definition? Does it stem from your first-hand experience of what makes you happy, or from your general observations about what you think constitutes happiness for most people?

About lolkin

the nomad of the Universe, sailing through the unknown, learning to be happy and give happiness back
This entry was posted in learn and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Science of Happiness course, and how do you define happiness?

  1. bearly says:

    Happiness is an inner state of joy and peace that comes and goes. It is the culmination of joy and peace at the same time and I believe it is based on my personal experience.
    I’ll be looking into that course. Thank you for that blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lolkin says:

      Thanks Bearly! There are as many definitions as there are people really. I will post my definition of happiness too at some point. It’s a cool course! No worries, enjoy!

      Like

    • lolkin says:

      As promised, here is what I wrote for this exercise. It was a bit of a dialogue with myself 🙂

      For me, happiness is liberation from thoughts, from wanting, from internal conflicts; establishing my life purpose which involves helping other people, and serving it so that work and passion become the same.

      Isn’t it you wanting smth in the future though? Not now?

      True. In which case happiness is now. Living the present moment in the best way possible, as in being peaceful and positive, growing spiritually and making lives of those around you more peaceful and positive, laying foundations for better tomorrow for yourself and others, now.

      Like

Any thoughts, comments?

