Do you know yourself well? A fun exercise

img_9483-1

It all started with me trying to understand what I should do with my life, what my calling is. I realised I did not really know what I was good at. I sat down, I made a list, followed recommended coaching techniques, but it all felt forced and not objective enough.

So I decided to complete as many strengths surveys as I could. I’ve done Via Strengths (it’s free but I paid for a report), Strengthsfinder 2.0 (you need to buy a book with a code on Amazon) and Strengthscope through work. I discovered that my strengths were: 

  • Empathy, kindness, compassion
  • Creativity, ideation
  • Appreciation of beauty & excellence, self improvement
  • Strategic mindset
  • Developing others, connectedness, relator

Suddenly this blog and my interests made a lot of sense 🙂

Strengths are important because they are essentially the values that guide your life. And they help with big decisions, eg what to do for a living, what’s important, etc. Another fun way of getting to know yourself a bit better is an exercise in the picture above, which is a card from the Know Yourself card set from The School of Life. Grab a piece of paper, a pen, write what comes into your mind for each of the questions and read your answers once done – what do they tell you? Does it make sense? Any surprises?

 

About lolkin

the nomad of the Universe, sailing through the unknown, learning to be happy and give happiness back
This entry was posted in learn and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts, comments?

